Runway Threshold View Lost at Normal Approach Speed

sfetbrandt
Runway Threshold View Lost at Normal Approach Speed

Post by sfetbrandt » Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:08 pm

Hello.... I've been flying the F-4E for several months and absolutely love it! However, I've got a weird problem.... I cannot get a consistent, useful view of runway thresholds at recommended final-approach speed of 140 knots and 17 units AOA. I lose my sight picture because the top of the instrument panel blocks the ground view as the aircraft descends on final with the nose elevated. Lowering the nose increases the airspeed too much, making for "hot" landings. I've tried countless view configurations with ChasePlane, but no matter what view I use-- instrument panel and heads-up display tilted, close, far, up, down -- I just can't get a view that gives me a decent picture while on short final and on glideslope. I frequently end up landing short because I'm "guessing" when I'm going to cross the runway threshold. I was hoping someone here has an image from a proper landing attitude/cockpit view under recommended landing configuration they could share with me or perhaps offer a (non-snarky) suggestion how I can see where the heck I'm landing. Thanks.... Steve.

JonathanBleeker
Re: Runway Threshold View Lost at Normal Approach Speed

Post by JonathanBleeker » Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:03 pm

Erm....140kts at 17 units AoA? I wouldn't dare go below 160 unless I was running on fumes with no payload. Don't bother trying to fly for a specific speed. Use a combo of AoA and descent rate instead and ignore your airspeed indicator.

sfetbrandt

Post by sfetbrandt » Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:43 pm