V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Find out more before you buy, or chat to other 737 pilots!
(No support requests please)

Moderator: N4GIX

fsxpaul
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:12 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by fsxpaul » Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:13 pm

Macoy wrote:Very nice and useful.

How do you compute the Trim settings for takeoff?

Thanks a lot.
I'm not sure if you're asking where's the trim value for take-off or how is the mathematical calculation performed :D

The take-off trim value is displayed in 'Blue' on the data card after selecting your desired flaps. (Please see the 'V-One.pdf' document in the ZIP file for further clarification.)
Left mouse click on the 'STAB TRIM' value and the color will toggle between 'Blue' and 'Green'. The 'Blue' color is for calculated trim value and the 'Green' is for the current trim value.

Adjust your current trim ('Green') to match the 'Blue' value prior to take-off.

Macoy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:51 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by Macoy » Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:41 pm

Sorry Paul! :oops:

My question is about the mathematical calculation used to get the CG and trim values. Because these trim values helps a lot during the rotation for takeoff.

Thanks a lot. And sorry about my bad formated question. ;)

Best Regards.

fsxpaul
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:12 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by fsxpaul » Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:53 am

Macoy wrote:My question is about the mathematical calculation used to get the CG and trim values.
Are you writing a gauge that needs a trim display? Maybe this will help.

I started off with the only trim information I could find (see attached).

I then used MS Excel to derive a linear equation based on the aircraft's current C.G. reported by FSX.

FSX has an internal value that can be accessed through a gauge (XML file): (A:ELEVATOR TRIM POSITION, radians) and
(A:CG PERCENT,percent); these are both used in the gauge.
Attachments
737-200_Trim.jpg
737-200_Trim.jpg (16.69 KiB) Viewed 16206 times

Macoy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:51 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by Macoy » Wed Apr 02, 2014 2:07 am

Thank you very much Paul!

I didn't know that! I thought the values ​​were obtained outside fsx.

Best Regards!

fsxpaul
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:12 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by fsxpaul » Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:19 pm

It's been over 3 weeks since this gauge was released with over 200 downloads. What do people think? Does it work as promised? Trouble installing?
Any feedback for improvements would be appreciated.

Thanks

Macoy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:51 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by Macoy » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:35 am

In my opinion it's perfect. ;)

Simple to install and to use. And a huge help for takeoffs and landings.

hodge001
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:38 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by hodge001 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:45 am

Hi
The same here, it is a really handy gauge to have installed, and installation went very smoothly,
thanks for all your V1 gauges as I use then all.

Take care and thank again for the time and effort you have out into the gauge it is appreciated.

Jim Hodkinson

wesl
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by wesl » Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:03 pm

I've installed the gauge. I'm not getting any gauge sound. Any suggestions?

The gauge itself works great. FSX is not installed to the defaut path. could this be an issue?

fsxpaul
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:12 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by fsxpaul » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:10 pm

wesl wrote:I've installed the gauge. I'm not getting any gauge sound.
If you've installed V3 and are using the s77 panel, please edit the panel.cfg file:

..\Milviz Boeing 737-200\panel.s77\panel.cfg

Check under [Window01] & [VcockPit01] for the error:

gauge00=Milviz_B737!B737_XMLSound, 0,0,1,1,SimObjects\\Airplanes\\Milviz Boeing 737-200\\sound\\B737#22

and remove both the #22 and save.

N4GIX
Posts: 5150
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by N4GIX » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:16 pm

fsxpaul wrote: gauge00=Milviz_B737!B737_XMLSound, 0,0,1,1,SimObjects\\Airplanes\\Milviz Boeing 737-200\\sound\\B737#22

and remove both the #22 and save.
Oh my, I just noticed that you've use the last 41 numbers for your sound files.

You see, without any entry at all the sound system will create 200 table entries for sounds, which wastes memory...

...so it would have been more efficient had you begun numbering at SND21. ;)

BTW, the sound system supports both volume and panning now as well.
Bill
Milviz 3d Modeler and Gauge/Systems Programmer
Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - EVGA GTX770 4GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Pro

fsxpaul
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:12 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by fsxpaul » Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:14 pm

N4GIX wrote:
fsxpaul wrote: gauge00=Milviz_B737!B737_XMLSound, 0,0,1,1,SimObjects\\Airplanes\\Milviz Boeing 737-200\\sound\\B737#22

and remove both the #22 and save.
Oh my, I just noticed that you've use the last 41 numbers for your sound files.

You see, without any entry at all the sound system will create 200 table entries for sounds, which wastes memory...

...so it would have been more efficient had you begun numbering at SND21. ;)

BTW, the sound system supports both volume and panning now as well.
I had written this gauge during v1.2 & v2 release using Doug Dawsons sound gauge and discovered that SND21 through SND200 were not being used. From a system load perspective, I changed my XML code to access the 737-200 sound that was already being loaded rather than loading 2 independent sound gauges.

I also used the sound variable names that would not interfere with the current 737-200 sounds and any potential new sounds.

It appears now that you have made your code more memory efficient by including a limit value.

Not sure how I can remedy this without changing my XML code and staying in sync with you regarding a block of sound variables for my gauge and any new sounds you may add in the future.

N4GIX
Posts: 5150
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:47 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by N4GIX » Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:54 pm

fsxpaul wrote:I also used the sound variable names that would not interfere with the current 737-200 sounds and any potential new sounds.

It appears now that you have made your code more memory efficient by including a limit value.

Not sure how I can remedy this without changing my XML code and staying in sync with you regarding a block of sound variables for my gauge and any new sounds you may add in the future.
Since no further sounds will be added to the 737 project, that should not be a concern any longer, and even if it were to happen, I'd simply skip over whatever block of numbers you use. 8-)

That was one of the first changes I made to the sound module. In the very first version, all project sounds were made to a single repository, the sim's ..\sound\Milviz folder. Worse, the sound module was "hard coded" to support only 200 unique sounds, period.

So, the first step was to re-code the module to read the project's sounds from the "5th parameter" of the gauge entry in the panel.cfg. By doing this, now each project would have its own set of sounds, limited to "only" 200 at most. This step eliminates the problem of getting sound files from different projects mixed up!

Well, I decided that I may just as well make the memory table dynamic, so added the ability to specify the exact number of sounds required, hence the #nn entry at the end of the path information. This is even more critical for P3D since it is now more important than ever to limit the memory footprint in the quest to eliminate or at least mitigate the potential for VAS exhaustion. ;)

At the same time, I added several new functions to the sound module, the most interesting of which is the volume and pan controls. For example, suppose you wanted all of your voice calls to sound as though they were coming from the first officer's side, you can now create an initialization routine and set each sound to come only from the right speaker:

Code: Select all

10000 (>L:XMLSND200_PAN,enum)  (* -10000 Left, 0 both, 10000 Right *)
In any case, if you need any further details, feel free to email me directly at n4gix at Comcast.net
Bill
Milviz 3d Modeler and Gauge/Systems Programmer
Flightsim Rig: Intel Core i7-2600K - 8GB DDR3 1333 - EVGA GTX770 4GB - Win7 64bit Home Premium
Development Rig1: Intel Core i7-3770k - 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD7770 SLI 1GB - Win7 64bit Pro

fsxpaul
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:12 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by fsxpaul » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:08 am

Thanks for the detailed info on the sound gauge Bill. I knew something was up when all my sounds were gone and there wasn't that nasty "Creation Failed" dialog box! :D

I changed my XML code and will test it soon with v3 Service Pack 4. I'm sure it will work as you've described.

Paul

wesl
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by wesl » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:06 pm

Thanks for the info Paul. I will try the suggestions.

wesl
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: V-One Gauge for Milviz 737-200

Post by wesl » Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:43 pm

Paul, it worked like a charm. Thanks for you help and great product.


Post Reply

Return to “Boeing 737-200 General Forum”